A/D: “Working at home using computers or telephones is better than working in the office.”

Nowadays, thanks to technology, people are able to fulfill various assignments almost everywhere by electronic devices. this raises the question that what is the better choice between working at home using computers or telephones and working in the office. I hold the belief that doing jobs at home is more ideal than in the office for the following two reasons.

First of all, people working at home can save a huge amount of energy and commuting time since they don’t need to travel to work every day. For example, my girlfriend is an administrative assistant at a small company, she is allowed to work at home. she can sleep until 9 am every working day, which is an hour later than me. after waking up, she makes a cup of coffee and eat a flavorful breakfast leisurely, making herself full power. then she can directly start working at her computer desk. All these processes just take her 30 minutes. However, as a commuter, I have to wake up at 7 am and take public transportation to the office every morning, which takes me more than one hour. When I arrive at the office, I am always exhausted.

Secondly, working at own house can enhance workers’ quality of concentration, since they can handle their work environment and not be bothered by other colleagues. take my girlfriend as an example again. after she began to work at home, she created a tidy, quiet, and well-lighted workplace in her room. So that she could not only focus more on her responsibilities, but also finish double business assignments than before. If she had to discuss some problems with co-workers, she just needed to contact them by telephone in less than 10 minutes and then continued to immerse in the work. On the other hand, two years ago, she worked in a crowded office that includes 8 departments. she had to deal with many tiny or unimportant affairs from colleagues, interns, and other members of her company. this clearly distracts her from the most necessary business.

To conclude, I do support that working at home using computers or telephones is better than working in the office. Because it not only saves workers a lot of energy and commuting time, but also help them concentrate more efficiently on their job.