Directions: Read the question below. You have 30 minutes to plan, write,and revise your

essay. Typically,an effective response will contain a minimum of 300 words.

Question:

National government can take a variety of actions to help protect the natural environment. Which ONE

of the following three actions do you think is MOST important for a nation's government to take to

protect the natural environment and why?

-Fund research to develop environmentally friendly energy sources, such as solar or wind power

-Preserve natural places such as forests and protect native wildlife species (animals) that live there

-Pass and enforce laws to prevent the pollution of air and water by big companies and industries

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As far as I am concerned, finding a new way to produce environmentally friendly energy sources would be essential to protect the natural environment. Because if we can solve the energy problem, other problems discussed could be solved naturally.

First, we cannot reproduce the current fossil energy, whose emission after burning is also harmful to the environment. The energy from solar energy or wind power will not produce any harmful components to the environment. Furthermore, the harvesting ratio of those energy sources is still low, meaning if we can improve the harvesting ratio, the total body of energy could be huge. And the energy prices would no longer be a problem for us.

Second, with new environmentally friendly energy sources, we can reduce the activities that might threaten the wildlife species. We do not need extra resources from nature. For example, in the rural areas of many countries, people would cut down trees to make meals or keep their houses warm. We can eliminate these behaviors if we have new energy sources because the new sources of energy would be much cheaper. Being able to reproduce them in large quantities, people would tend to use them instead of the low-efficient fire energy from the woods. In this way, the forest habitats for the wildlife could be preserved. If we can leverage solar power or other forms of recycling energy, the problem of protecting wildlife would be easier.

Third, the new type of energy can also help to tackle the harmful pollution from companies and industries. Many methods to reduce pollution are less favorable to the companies due to their high costs. For example, we can use electricity to disintegrate poisonous gases before emitting them. Yet the costs for this method are too high, and the companies are reluctant to do that. If we could produce the electricity from new types of environmentally friendly energy sources in large quantities and at cheap prices, the previous concerns would no longer exist. Since the cost of treating the pollution would be much lower, the companies and industries would be more willing to do it.

In summary, if we can solve the energy problem, the other two problems could be solved naturally.