Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a large city versus living in a small town. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The livelihood of a place whether it be a city or a village is decided upon various parameters such as the infrastructure, electricity facilities, employment options, climatic conditions, social conditions, transportation and connectivity to other parts, entertainment options and the list is continued. Living in city has its own perks and living in the village has it s own. The following two examples helps out in underscoring various advantages and disadvantages about living in city and village.

For any person, the infrastructure facilities along with the electrical facilities become the most important. This is because if there are no good houses, roads, transportation and connectivity facilities , then the modified basic need of human for good accommodation is not fulfilled. Therefore , according to development stretch that has already occurred in cities , they have an advantage of good infrastructure facilities. For example, in cities the power cuts are very rare on the other hand these cuts are very common in villages where they prove to be disadvantage. According to various reports, In India almost 30% of the villages have no active electricity connection and the rest are supplied with electricity on unpredictable basis because the supply to city is more important. Subsequently, the entertainment and recreational options are more in cities adding one more advantage to the list. For example, in any city you will find movie screens, malls , shopping complex , clubs , good eateries. The city like Mumbai has more than 200+ screens for the large population in the city. Such services may not be available in villages. On a personal opinion, I have never seen a single shopping mall or complex in villages. If you look into the city, the employment opportunities are also high in the city because of the development in infrastructure. However, there is a negative side to things as well. Most of the cities are not designed for large migrations that take place to cities and the facilities are burdened making them less efficient. For example, the roads in cities are quite big but the problem of traffic still exists because the large number of cars on the street. The local trains in Mumbai are very good example of how the quality of the system degrades because of extra load on to it. This marks the disadvantage of cities that the services needs to shared with a large number of population.

On the other hand, the village life is pretty soothing as compared to city life where large distances needs to be covered for small objectives as well. The climate in the villages is also good as compared to that of the cities. For example, the air pollution problem in Delhi is so severe that people had to install air filters in order to compensate for the bad quality of air adding to the disadvantage of cities that the climate and environment has degraded. The city life is pretty fast and therefore It gives very less time for people to stop for someone or inquire about someone widening the gap between people leading to breaking of relations which is not the case in the villages where people are very closely dependent and inter mingled with each other glued together because of the age old traditions that are lost in cities or celebrated with true motive kept aside. The cultural richness of the village is its most important advantage.

To conclude, the village and city has its own advantages and disadvantages making it very complex to choose one. However, it is completely dependent upon the individual choices and therefore on a personal opinion I prefer to live in city because of advantages of developed infrastructure , employment and connectivity which is lacking in villages but the villages are rich in cultural traditions, climate and environmental suitability.