Do you agree that it is better to work for business owned by someone else than to work for the business of one’s own family

It is tempting to think that working for busniess owned by one's familiy is a previlege since all profits go directly into the familiy's pocket. Nevertheless, from my perspective, it is better to work for business of someone else rather than devote one's energy to his or her family business.

On the one hand, the most significant problem of family owned business is that it is hard to supervise. In most cases, family memebers not only share ownership of their company or store, but also particiate in the daily management of their business. Considering the emomtinal bond between these manager, who are all relatives to each other, it is difficult to get rid of personal feelings and make rational decisions for the company. My mother, for example, once invested in a factory along with my uncle. She worked delicately to win bids for the factory and my uncle was in charge of runing the factory. With huge investment in money and time, my mother earned the factory considerable orders. However, their business was never profitiable. It turns out that my uncle stealed from the fundind of the factory. If he were not a relative, my mother would have sued him for stealing. In the end, she merely withdrawed her money and there was no punishment for my uncle's wrong doing.

On the other hand, working in family business will limite one's choise of career. Unlike looking for a job in labor market, where people could pick the companies that thay are interested in, in which field will the family opperate is often not up to a single person. Sadly, people may not like what their family are making a living with. For instance, a friend of mine comes from a family that sell high-end watch for severl generations. Unfortunately, the only hobby of friend is music, and he would rather be a poor muscian than to run his family business. Forcing him to work for the family is amount to destory his dream.

Addmitedly, the motivation for working for family busniess could be surficiant as people are eventually working for themselves. Nonetheless, tools such as stock option have samiliar functions, which encouraging people to work harder in busniess owned by someone else.

As a result, the benefits of working in companies owned by others bypass these of running a family business becasue family business are often harder to supervise, and people have little choose of their career if they decide to work for their family.