Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: All university students should be required to take basic science courses even if it is not the field of their study.

University education has been long taken as elite education where students can take four-year-time to delve deeper into subjects they are majored or interested in and become experts in respective fields. However, it is also advocated that university education has developed gradually toward mass education where “everyone can learn something about everything”. Therefore, when it comes to whether all undergraduates should be required to take basic science courses, people may take different standpoints. I myself prefer the idea that taking basic science courses should not be a requirement for all university students.

For one thing, university is the cradle of talents with specialties and interests in various fields. The whole reason of elective system in universities is to entitle students the rights and opportunities to choose courses that are relevant to their majors and those they are interested in. Basic science courses might be highly relevant and recommendable for students whose majors are science-related, whereas students majored in humanities, communication or fine arts may find taking science courses not that helpful in the fields they specialize in. So it is more advisable for undergraduates to choose courses in accordance with their own needs and preferences.

For another, while selecting courses, factors like whether those courses would be informative and enlightening, or whether those courses would help them with their future career choices would all be taken into consideration. Obviously, science-related jobs are not always listed as first priorities for newly graduates. Taking myself as an example, I majored in English language and literature. When I started hunting jobs, I preferred positions like English teachers, translators, editors and alike, all of which do not require science skills or knowledge. Therefore, taking basic science courses would probably be of little use to me, and also to many students like me.

Admittedly, it is beyond doubt that basic science courses are useful for many undergraduates. It is just not all majors and all jobs are overlapping in science aspects, so those courses would not be equally beneficial or helpful for all students. With limited time and energy, students should be advised to make reasonable arrangement of time and choose courses that they can benefit most.

From what I have discussed above, we may easily come to the conclusion that asking all university students to take basic science courses is not a feasible or favorable scheme.