Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in today's educational world, having adequate historical information could be a paramount consideration for each person. One of the Persian historians mentioned at his Iran's history book "Most of our population are, in actuality, illiterate due to their low-level of knowledge of history ." In this regard, a heated debate which is often raised among university authorities is whether taking history courses should be a compulsory task for students or not. From my perspective, students need to pass at least one course related to history to become well-educated. In the ensuing lines, I will elaborate on the most outstanding reasons.

First and foremost, studying historical events could assist students in broadening their political and social knowledge. Indeed, people need to be acquainted with the previous occurrences in order to realize the reasons of political and social changes that are happening around them. As a case in point, sociologist have noticed that a plethora of students are not aware of the reasons of their governments’ policies, since they do not know what was happening beforehand. Consequently, not knowing what is happing in political world, they cannot cope with the upcoming social and economic crisis. Furthermore, people need to define their countries future by participating in elections. If they do not have adequate information about historical

failures, they cannot rationally vote for the right candidate. Thus, they would not attain their desired homeland in the future.

Admittedly, human beings like to find their origins and value them by nature. To clarify, knowledge of past generations could aid them in further becoming familiar with their progenitors' beliefs and thoughts. In addition, it provides us with some information with respect to the way our ancestors used to live, and also how developed they were. For instance, most of our traditions originated from what our ancestors used to do in the past, and there is always a rational reason behind each custom. Discovering these reasons, not only can a person utilize these strategies to solve his problems, but also he could provide a thorough knowledge for the next generations to further know how advanced and thoughtful their progenitors were used to live. Hence, this would satisfy humans' curiosity and would help them to value their traditions.

To put it briefly, weighing the merits and demerits of studying history, it could be concluded that passing an obligatory course in history, would be a rational rule for students, regardless of their main major. For one thing, they need to increase their knowledge in social and political fields to deal with upcoming crisis and make their country a better place by voting for the right candidate. Moreover, knowing about their progenitors would satisfy their curiosity and make them value their customs. Lastly, conducting more surveys in this field could be recommended to reveal more precise outcomes of studying history.