Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Learning about the past is not just learning the fact from the past, but getting to know accumulated wisdom of human society and the course we have made. With this understanding, I firmly believe that all university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their filed of study is.

To begin with, since history is people's footprint about all things, any field of study is related to history. There is nothing that can be explained without reminding what had been done before. For example, physics, which seems to be very unrelated to history, have a great relation to it. In the far past, people thought that Newton's theory is correct without any fallacy. However, as time goes, the Einstein's theory of relativity appeared in the world and it became the mainstream of physics instead of the one of Newton. This cannot be understood without careful study about history of physics and in the end the history of physics are related to the general history. In this regard, taking history courses should be made mandatory for all students.

Furthermore, studying history enables people to enjoy a better quality of life. By learning about the past, students can have diverse indirect experience and thereby make a better decision in every aspect of life. This is because learning history means getting wisdom from the past. A recent research conducted by Seoul National University shows that over seventy percent of 200 people answered that reading history book encouraged them to make a better decision. This shows that without history, people might make a mistake which is similar to the one made hundreds of years ago. On this account, history courses are essential for students to make the best decision and ultimately enjoy a better quality of life.

To sum up, I strongly believe that it is desirable for students to take history classes.