Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Although science and technology will continue to improve, the most significant improvement for the quality of people’s lives have already taken place.

In this astounding machine age, where science is marching forward at an alarming rate, human beings have taken advantage of inventions and discoveries to live a life readily; however, they may find it demanding to keep up with the developments, and apply them in their daily routine. There is a heated controversy among people as to whether the most critical advances have been taken place in order to enhance the status of individual's lives. Personally speaking, I subscribe to the mentality that this statement is not sensible, and in what follows, I will provide some cogent reasons to substantiate my stance on the topic.

To begin with, human beings still spend a great deal of time and energy on transporting from one place to another, which creates room for the concept that there is a necessity to improve in this field in order to make life smoother. Generally speaking, considering the level of sophistication in today's world, people have a hectic daily schedule, making them opting to means in which they waste less time. With this in mind, one of the biggest challenges people are dealing with in their everyday life is the amount of time they dissipating in dense traffics, public transportations, or on flights. Therefore, as it has always been said, today's science fiction is tomorrow's science fact; it goes without saying that the 'tele transportation' might not be a dream in future, and it will set the stage for transferring one, in a blink of an eye, to any place they desire.

The second worthwhile reason to mention is that although life expectancy has been increased compared to the past generations in the light of medical advances, there is a vast breadth of diseases, no treatments have proved beneficial for them. To be more specific, the scientists are not comprehensively familiar with the function of the brain; thus, they are not capable of providing patients with proper curative treatments for illnesses like schizophrenia, insomnia, to name but a few. Not until a person dies because of a disease, can we assert that the major steps have been taken as the improvements of life that the technology provides us with.

In conclusion, by taking into account all the reasons above, I am of the conviction that technology has a long way to satisfy the people's need, hence not only do people squander a big portion of their time transferring from one place to another, but also they suffer from various diseases, which make their lives painful.