Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I believe that for any real relationship, at its roots is truthfulness. In his book, “How to make friends and influence people”, Dale Carnegie emphasised the importance of truthfulness as the foundation of any successful relationship. The famous author stressed that while being truthful all the time may make one vulnerable, most times it affords us opportunity to strengthen our bonds with others. Constant truthfulness is the force that breaks the façade of falsehood in a fake relationship and turns it into a real one.

The great Buddha while he was alive, journeyed far and wide in search of knowledge. In all his findings, he recognised the undeniability of developing a lasting relationship based on truthfulness with everyone one comes across. Many followers who have proved Buddha teachings not only had great relationships with people close to them but strangers and those they rarely interact with as well.

Aside Buddha, another legendary person whose extra-ordinary relationship with all and sundry was exemplary of a warm and deeply appreciated truth-based relationship is Gandhi. Gandhi when approach by the old and young would devote his time to ensure he expresses himself candidly to them all. His case demonstrated the kind of relationship we all desire and he has shown by the goodness of his relationships that constant truthfulness is the way to achieve that.

To leave out Mother Teresa as an epitome of excellence in relationships would be a disrespect. The beloved mother through her lifestyle cannot state enough how vital truthfulness is in all situations. Mother Teresa touched a significant amount of lives and formed lasting relationships entirely based on truthfulness. She showed that while being truthful always may seem difficult or frustrating to a relationship at first, toughing it out will surely make such relationship stronger.

In conclusion, the saying, to move fast go alone, to move far go with others, is predicated on the importance of founding any relationship on the pillars of constant truthfulness. The most impactful people across history like Dale Carnegie, Buddha and Gandhi achieved tremendous feats and are still known and followed today because of the basis of all their relationships - constant truthfulness.