Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

"The best way to learn is by following the examples set by others."

I disagree with this statement for several reasons. In my opinion, the learning will be practical if you obtain enough information and knowledge. Plus, sometimes a cited example could be happened under specific circumstances so if your conditions vary from those, then that example may not come in handy. Also, some learnings need to be experienced, you can not learn them due to an example.

First, I believe that specific information and knowledge are necessary for learning. For example, if you want to learn how to drive a car, first you have to know some information about the parts of that piece of machine. You can not learn how to use it if you don’t know what the gas is.

Second, I think some examples happened in some particular situations, and if those situations differentiate from yours, then you probably can’t learn it properly. For example, if you want to learn how to use that car by an example and if the man who is trying to teach you how to drive the car, belongs to a very hot region like around the equator line, he may not know anything about the cold conditions and won’t tell if you want to use the car in a cold climate you have to use anti-freezing material in the water used in the engine and also you may need to start the engine of the car several minutes before driving the vehicle.

Third, I think sometimes learning needs to be practiced by the person himself. Because how good and coherent an example would be, it also can’t be so feasible and suitable for you to learn the thing. For example, imagine yourself when you was inclined to drive a car. Even if you hear and rehearse the instructions of how to drive a car and you do it for thousand times, but you will never learn how to drive a car smoothly. The only way is to seat behind the wheel and trying to drive it. During this experience, your mind learns how to control your limbs and eventually will help you to learn the driving.

In conclusion, I believe that for learning you need more than other’s examples, you need knowledge, you need to practice and exercise, and also you need to get aware of the specific conditions that you are working under.