Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children should be required to follow strict rules set by their parents. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Do not use memorized examples.

Most families have their own rules and some parents strongly force their children to obey them, while some families don’t. Personally, I believe that excessive regulations of children does not have a good influence for their education and growth. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, extremely strong constraints may hamper the development of children’s judgment abilities, confidences and self-esteems. Sometimes it is presumable that a child’s opinion violates his/her parent’s one. If parents scold their children every such moment, children may consider that their parents’ viewpoint take precedence over their own judgments. So, their judgment abilities and self-esteems can be underdeveloped. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a high school student, there were several friends whose parents are severely rigorous. They are pressured regarding their grades, future paths, and styles of life and expenditure. I could frequently observe the circumstances that they can’t make their autonomous decisions because of their parents.

Secondly, coercive regulations made by parents can be responsible for discords between parent and child. We should notice that parent’s castigation may provoke child’s revolt. Their emotional bones will be deepen as their friction occurs often. Thus it may cause severe ruptures between parent and child which cannot be easily recovered. For instance, my younger brother was not highly motivated about studying in a high school, and his academic performance was quite sluggish. However, my parents forced him to study much more harder and consequently, they conflicted almost every day when my brother was in the first year of high school. I think that their emotional bones triggered by those events are not completely recovered yet.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that it is definitely not a good idea to compel children to follow inordinately harsh rules made by parents. This is because it may impede maturing children’s ability to make their own decision and insist it confidently, and stimulate frequent strife between parent and child.