Everyone faces challenges they have difficulty overcoming. These challenges are often related our school life, our family life or our academic life. What do you think is the best way to deal with a problem that is difficult to solve?

(1) asking someone with more experience for help.

(2) finding more information about the problem using the Internet.

(3) discussing the issue with a close friend.

(4) taking a long time to think about the problem

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Make sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

I guess that everyone has at least one arduous experience that you encountered a troublesome problem in your whole life. For example, my sluggish ability to utilize Linux operating system in my personal computer is bothering me recently. If you have faced an unwieldy difficulty, then you should think about how to solve it more wisely and efficiently. Personally, I believe that the best strategy to overcome such a circumstance is asking somebody who has already experienced and succeeded to resolve it. I feel this way for two reasons, which I clarify in the following essay.

First of all, it is possible to receive more precise, truthful and valuable information by asking directly to your ‘mentor.’ If you request an advice to him/her politely, I have no doubt that he/she will give you veracious responses to your questions. Also, you might be remembered positively for your adviser due to your respectfulness. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I am an undergraduate student majoring in mathematical sciences and statistics and currently interested in high-dimensional statistics and its information-theoretic methods. One day, I asked a certain professor whose interest is consistent with mine for a consultant about my research concerns. Then, she provided me extremely precious and helpful advice and I decided to proceed my undergraduate research with her supervision. Moreover, I could maintained a close relationship with her so far.

Secondly, asking someone regarding your contemplation can be conducive to ameliorate your communication skills. When you have a meeting with your adviser, it is necessary to formulate your concerns briefly and exactly. This procedure is excessively critical for not only a meeting, but also a daily conversation. For instance, I have a lot of experience to ask professors about my difficulties, and I summarized my questions every time. This process became a convention naturally and it was beneficial to various group meetings and research seminars.

In conclusion, I am of opinion that asking a pioneer of my difficulty for an advice is the most preeminent way to surmount it. This is because it facilitates to get more accurate, fruitful information and to improve your communication ability.