Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children should only study or play and don’t have to do household chores.

That children grow rapidly both mentally and physically during childhood is an axiom. Parents implement different nurturing methods in order to reinforce these two crucial aspects. A question, which is a matter of debate, a controversial one, is, whether children should take part in household activities or their task is just studying and playing. Although it is a little hard to reach a consensus on this issue, I am, to a great extent on the belief that the positive results arisen from participating in household chores have significant importance. The following reasons would elaborate on the thesis.

To commence, one of the compelling reasons that justifies the thesis is that through participating in household activities children learn the meaning of cooperation and assistance. To put it general words, assigning simple house duties to little kids prepared them for greater contribution in the future. Simply stated, although studying and playing have the important role in child’s life, these crucial tasks could not teach a child the importance of having the spirit of cooperation and assistance. To elucidate on, seen positive feedbacks of parents while helping them, children will be persuaded to assist other people of the society. To delineate, gradually cooperation will become part of the child’s personality which help him a lot while entering the society. It goes without saying that nothing even studying in the best schools could compensate for the little assigned household activities through which children comprehend they should lend helping hand in their life. To shed more light on the issue, according to the result of the study conducted on two groups of elementary school students, those who help their parents in household works are more successful in team working and assisting other members of the group.

Another reason which is of equal importance if not more is that contributing in household chores will teach children responsibility. Broadly speaking, having a sense of responsibility for assigned tasks teaches children the meaning of responsibility at an early age. To clarify, encouraging children to participate in house duties make them responsible individuals. Going into depth, having discovered that they are in charge of some tasks, children will become definitely responsible people for greater duties in the future. It is all transparent that although children learn some aspects of life while educating, rarely do they comprehend the importance of responsibility as there are no serious delegated responsibilities in playing and studying. Needless to say, the more children fortify the moral responsibility in themselves, the better they can handle the greater responsibilities in their future. However, what I mentioned above might not be overgeneralize to all contexts. Sometimes compelling children to allocate part of their time to doing household chores distract them and damage their education. Nevertheless they are more of an exception rather than a general rule.

Drawing upon the reasons, although there are always some exceptions which are excluded from the general rule, I do agree that making children to participate in household duties offers numerous advantages. To recapitulate the reasons, not only do they comprehend the meaning of cooperation and assistance, but also they will become more responsible people in their future life.