Teachers should be evaluated by their students. Do you agree or disagree?

Since the early days of civilization, education has been exposed to a great deal of attention due to its eminent position in the society. The mankind has always been seeking ways to improve education by making changes in methodology, material and facilities. Nowadays, there is a negotiation about whether or not evaluating the teachers by students is going to help enhancing education and making learning process more efficient. I believe that teachers’ being evaluated by their students in any academic level is definitely beneficial. Some of the most important merits of this assessment are discussed later in this essay.

First of all, every professional needs to get some kind of feedback on how well he is doing his job. So evaluation is critical. Doing a periodical evaluation is necessary for example for an employer in order to have a better and more hardworking staff. In schools, universities or other academic institutions, students have close interaction with their professors. That means that the most efficient and tactful estimation can be done by the students. However, there is always the risk of students’ lying about their teachers’ behavior, knowledge or teaching abilities. But if they perceive that this evaluation will benefit them as well, they would be more objective and do the assessment with higher efficiency.

Another advantage of this evaluation is the competition that it induces between professors in a university. When professors of a university are being evaluated constantly and the results of this survey will go to the dean of that university, an incentive of being a better professor appears. The professors would emulate for a good reputation both among students and other fellow professors and also the dean. This probably may lead to more hardworking and knowledgeable professors and then to more academic achievements. This way, that specific university would gain a positive publicity, so there would be more donations and also more potential students applying there.

Finally, by this assessment the students feel that their university is respectful towards them. When a university asks its students to assess their professors, it means that to them, the students’opinionsstudents’ opinions are important and that they want their students to participate in the university’s events and destiny. Students also will respect their university and its staff. This way a peaceful and cordial environment is provided which can help teachers teach and students learn better.

Taking all the aforementioned into account, it can be concluded that the process of students evaluating their teachers, if done correctly, can accelerate students, teachers and even their university or school on the way to achieve their goals. Students can assess their teachers in many ways, such as doing a survey. Through this evaluation strengths and weaknesses are traced. It would be best if this evaluation process was not limited just to teachers and it extended to all parts of an academic institution, like facilities, staff, quality of extra-curriculum activities, etc. This way there would be a good chance to undo the mistakes and modify the ill conditions.