Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Classmates are more important influence than parents on a child's success in school.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In my opinion, I agree that classmates have more influence on the child’s success in school than parents.

For example, on one hand, some African parents have never been to school. This decreases their level of influence on their children’s success in school. Indeed, some children can even stop going to school or be discouraged because most of them take the examples of their parents in life.

Besides, some parents do not encourage their children to go to school because they don’t understand the importance of school.

In addition, some parents work many hours which reduces their time to concentrate on their children’s performance in school. As matter of fact, they come home tired and cannot help their children with school work. Also, some of them cannot teach their children depending on their class levels, the more the children are advanced, the more the subjects get harder.

On the other hand, a child is frequently influenced by class friends. This influence on peers is more visible in adolescence period. At this age, Children want to rebel against their parents or anyone who wants to oppose their thoughts, beliefs. In their mind they see themselves as grown-ups and are most likely to be influenced by the classmates or other friends. Classmates become friends and the more their study together, the more their relationship grow for some of the classmates.

Most of the time, children want to compare their school results to those of their classmates, which create kind of motivation for learning.

In conclusion, Children tend to follow their peers than modeling their parents.