Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phones, online games, and social networking Web sites.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, many things had been changed due to technology development. One of the main changes is communications and electronic devices. Using these facilities and inventions is very prevalent in the last decade. So, there is a controversial matter between people in children's usage of them. Some of them state that children should not be allowed to use them due to their negative effects on their academic life. However, some others oppose this point by explaining that it could be a useful thing for children and can enhance their educational quality. I personally contend that the latter is true. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that these new devices are sometimes more useful for education development. Students can see didactic videos on websites and social networks by just using a cellphone. Furthermore, many games have educational purposes and teach children something indirectly. For example, in many non-advanced countries, like Iran, students do not have the access of updated information due to harsh sanctions which are even effect on scientific affairs. So, students can use YouTube and watch courses from top-rated universities and schools. Also, they can communicate with other teachers and professors in other countries and learn many things from them.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that academic teaching is not the whole matter which children had to learn. They had to learn how to have a beneficial community with other society members. This issue could be becoming by having relationships with others on the internet. Children can chat with others in social networks, use others' experience in life and have bigger friend circle. This matter can teach children many life dexterities which youngers could not learn in last decades. For example, I have a nephew named Amir who has numerous friends from many countries in social networks. They have a friendly group and deal their experiences with each other. Furthermore, they invite each other to their country and have trips. If my nephew doesn't have these friend from other countries, he could not earn these experiences and he should spend much money to have a foreign trip.

In conclusion, despite lots of disadvantages of using the internet and social networks for youngers, it is better for them to use these facilities to have better education and more experiences which most of them were expensive and undeniable before. But, I think parents should control their usage to prevent them from their indulgence in using these technologies.