Do you agree or disagree with the following statement. The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Families are always been the basis of a society. In the past, people were counting all of the aunts, uncles, cousins and also grandparents as one family, and members of a family were trying to meet each other more often. Nowadays, with the advent of technology, a family is just made of parents and their children. The new family has separated from uncles and aunt. Another important reason is that in the past century, parents inclined toward fewer children; hence, we have less aunts and uncles now. So, this is my deep belief that the importance of the extended family is less than it was in the past. I will elaborate my points of view through the following paragraphs.

To begin with, there are some gloomy predictions that future families will have up to four members: a father, a mother and maximum of two children. Although decreasing the size of family will surely enhance the quality of living, the next generation will miss the chance of having uncles, aunts and cousins. Therefore, children prefer to spend their time with their friends.

The second primary reason that I would like to bring about reduction of importance of extended family is the technology advancement through recent years. TV, for example, is a symbol of technology which has changed families vastly. Watching TV is quite simpler than trying to contact acquaintances. Not only technology has altered the way of our living, but also in the same manner it changed the way of working, too. Modern world is a highly competitive and stressful environment for working. For instance, employees expect from their workers to stay late and work in the company. As a result, families do not even have enough free time to expand their relationship with their close relatives.

All in all, based on aforementioned arguments, I personally assert that extended families have no longer the same importance it had before. Inclination toward smaller families and emergence of technology in the modern world are the two primary reasons for eliminating the concept of extended family from contemporary culture. But that was the story in a nutshell; actually there are some other reasons and examples challenging the claims, which are not mentioned above.