Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts and uncles) is less important now than in the past.

In recent times, extended family has limited impacts in people’s life. Many people believe that the influence of extended family in their life is no more valuable than before. I agree with this idea that life of today does not require much benefit from the extended family like in the past. I feel this way for several reasons which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, the extended family is less significant in our life now because of our busy lifestyle. Certainly in the past, families have enough time to carry out activities together. Also, some family has a culture of living together even if you get marry which brings love and unity among them. However, the case is different today. Many families because of different activities being engaged in like employment opportunity make them to leave their extended family and move on to start a new life. Moreover, the policy of living together to have an immense family has gone into extinction, thereby making the grandparents and other extended family irrelevant again. The working lifestyle of today is so demanding for people to remember others. In my personal experience as an example, since I married, I don’t have the opportunity of visiting my village. Not that I don't want to, it is because of limited time. Therefore, the busier we are in our daily life the more we distance ourselves from our extended family making them less important to us.

Secondly, advance in technology has brought a tremendous opportunity to people to make them forget other relatives. Indeed, life in the past gives room for sharing ideas and meeting people. Nevertheless, the development in technology has made people to move far away from relatives and reduces the importance of getting closer to their extended family. For example, my brother travels to the biggest city in my country for the past five years. He always calls on phone to reach his extended family because he is less opportune to visit them. Therefore, the improvement in technology brought a wide gap between us and our extended family.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that extended family is less privilege in our life than ever because of our busy activity and development in technology.