Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, some people claim that the extended family was of vital importance in good old days, however, it is not so crucial in these days. In my point of view, although the extended family still have some influences todays, it is less important than before due to the development of our society.

In the first place, extended family do not have housework because the community services can help people deal with it. The owner of a house usually hires a temporary laborer which can tidy up the residence. For instance, my parents were brought up by their parents and grandparents in their childhoods. Yet my mother hired a baby-sister from the community service center after I bore. I was taken care of by the baby-sister in my babyhood. We did not live in the same city with our extended families at that time, so we cannot ask them for help under this circumstance.

In addition, schools were not so general in the past, so extended families had the obligations of teaching young family members. Nonetheless, nowadays there are schools in every area. People can have education easily in the modern society. We also have other methods of being well-informed, like accessing to the internet, listening to the radio or watching TV. We can acquire knowledge from these resources so we do not depend on our extended family members nowadays.

Eventually, people today enjoy living alone with their small care families than living with a whole extended family. Moreover, we have our own friends and acquaintances so we do not communicate with our extended family members like cousins and uncles. We do not have subjects in common. In this case, we can only see them during festivals. Thus, we can hardly turn to them for help facing some difficulties or troubles.

In a nut shell, the extended family is fading now. We do not need them to do housework. Education can be accessed to easily in modern society. We are more likely to live with small care families.