Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When it comes to the issue of whether extended family is still of the same importance as it once was, many people claim that it still possesses a great significance. However, others disagree and state that extended family no longer plays an crucial in one's life. Personally, I believe that the latter belief is more accurate.

First and foremost, members of extended family nowadays often live after away from one another. In the past, people of a large family tend to live close to each other; hence, they are more likely to bond have shared interests. On the contrary, family members today are bound to settle in different places, as a result, they do have as much time bonding as before. Take my mother's family as an example, when she was young, her family used to be very huge as all her uncles and aunts lived in the same area. But as she grew up, she and her cousins went to different places to study and live; hence they are no longer as close as they used to be. Distance has made the importance of extended family degraded for all family member.

Secondly, the development of economy has also played down the importance of a large family. Before, most people were not wealthy, as a result, it is crucial that the family is big enough so that the members can support each other. Nevertheless, today people are more independent financially, so there is no need for them to live in such large family. For example, my cousin used to live in a crowded family along with many of his relatives so that the families can support one another; however, when his family earned enough money, they moved to different place to start their own business. The growth of economy has surely influenced to importance of extended family as members are now more independent.

In conclusion, multiple factors are to contribute to the degradation of extended family's significance namely the distance and economical development.