Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparent, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The family has a significant impact on each one’s life. Humans gain their lives’ abilities through families. Some people believe that, nowadays, extended family is much more important than in the past, while others hold precisely the opposite perspective. I firmly believe that it is clear people do not attend to have extended family, so it becomes less important than before. I will clarify my viewpoint in the following paragraphs.

First, nowadays, most people are independent not only financially but also socially. Independent people seek privacy; in extended families, there is no such thing as privacy. Generally speaking, invasion of privacy is joint in huge families, but in the nuclear family, the only focus is on the success of each member. My experience can be a suitable example; when I lived with my parents, sisters, and grandparents, they made my life unbearable; whenever I wanted to go out, I should have asked permission from everyone. These kinds of environments, under constant supervision, would bring misery and loss of freedom.

Secondly, entertainment is one staple need in society that was not common years ago. Today, instead of family gatherings, people can use different means to spend their time. With the advent of new entertainment and technology, it is observable that family tradition, especially in extended families, is about to extinct. For instance, spending time in cafes, restaurants, amusement parks, movies, concerts, and so on had been a replacement for family meetings. The fast-paced evolution of the world has affected these traditions and weakened families’ bonds for the past few decades.

Lastly, it should not be neglected that in the past, people were closer, and they share their joys and sorrows together. Family members supported each other through every thick and thin. Through association with those being meaningful to each other, they could achieve a sense of security, love, acceptance, companionship, and personal worth. According to a recent study, children in large families that had unlimited support in unexpected situations could make a positive emotional connection with others when they grew old. So, in large families, emotional attention has a prominent role in people’s lives, bringing success and happiness to their lives.

In conclusion, there are many crucial factors about extended families that can be examined. Nevertheless, science and development of the world made this need for an extended family less rather than past.