Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in this sophisticated and progressive world, where we are living, governments are the most important parts of our societies. There has been a controversial debate among politicians and people as to whether government should invest money in art rather that spending money in supporting Olympic teams and athletes. As far as I am concerned, governments should spend more money in athletics field, and two reasons to support my view are presented as follows.

To begin with, spending more money on Olympic teams, societies will take the advantage of popularity. It is not a secret to anyone that advocating athletes is an opportunity for a country to reveal itself to the world and be well-known since Olympics and other kinds of global competitions are being seen and followed by the majority of people living in every corner of the globe. When governments support heroes and athletes, they will feel qualified enough to be winners, as a result, they will make the most of their efforts to make their countries proud of them. Obviously, different countries will be known in these kinds of competition and it is more likely that tourists will be interested in traveling to countries having good performances in Olympic. Communities therefore have a chance to improve and boost their economic since tourists are being considered an important factor of economic development and prosperity. No longer will governments have difficulty providing enough money to support other practical projects like arts.

Furthermore, doing this, spending money in support of athletics rather than arts, new talented people will be emerged. It is crystal clear that when people are supported by others, they do not afraid of failures and it encourages other individuals to pursue their dreams even if it is hard to achieve. Thus, juveniles that are interested in being an athlete will not have fears and they can overcome every challenge because they know that the government believes them. In this vein new capacities will be discovered, meaning there are more opportunities to be successful. To put it in more vivid picture, my uncle had a dream of being an athlete, unfortunately he was so afraid of entering in this field since nobody supported him, after two years when government enact that there should be an investment for supporting athletes, my uncle followed his desire and became a very famous and important person in basketball. Had the government not spent money for advocating such sports, my uncle would not be famous and he would not be flourished.

In sum, having aforementioned examples and reasons into account, not only will people experience living in an affluent society, they will also have a chance to follow their dreams and be successful.