Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We can distinguish a country’s culture by perceiving its art. On contrary, a state-sponsored Olympic team represents its country in front of the whole world. Though both are crucial, I am on the side that government should spend more money on state Olympic teams. My point of view will be described in the subsequent paragraphs.

The first thing that comes to my mind is the Olympics athletes represent our country internationally. They should be well-trained up so that, they won gold medals or others. Most of the athletes in my country belong to average financial conditions. They cannot afford any neoteric training course to cope with other players in the Olympic game. This section needs government attention. If government arrange state-organized training program, they can improve their skill. Although, art is also required. They don’t need any financial support to represent the globe. In this modern era, with the assistance of the internet, it has become easier to publish anything worldwide.

Besides, we can assume the huge expense behind those training programs needed for the athletes. However, if the government invests money in events like the Olympics, it can be said that the nation will also profit from those events. If we can assure a well-organized training program, we can also assure our victory in front of the whole world. It will expand our country’s popularity globally. We can make good relationships with other countries in this way as well as can increase our import-export business with them. Through arts, these facilities will be hard to develop.

Additionally, this project will also abate some national problems like unemployment. Unemployment has become a curse for our country. If the government does not spend money on state Olympic teams, those members will become unemployed. Besides that, it will increase poverty in our country. For instance, one of my friends used to belong to a national boxing team. His dream was always to be an international champion but he did not get any national attention. That’s why he did not have any choice but to leave his dream to support his family. He is unemployed now and struggling a lot to find a suitable job for him. If he got the chance to show his talent on any international stage like the Olympics, he will not end up in such a miserable condition.

Finally, it is clear from the above-mentioned description that the government should spend more money on athletics like state-sponsored Olympic teams to build the team stronger to face other countries as well as it will bring some financial help to the country.