Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Grades (marks) encourage students to learn.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Grade, the foundation of the modern education system, has raised wide discussion on whether or not it encourages students to learn. Some people believe that grades definitely increase students' motivation to learn. However, from my perspective, I hold the opinion that grades actually do harm to students' study because of the negative effects it brings to students, the low feedback for some students, and the comprehensive assessment it lacks.

As is known to us all, students nowadays face incredible pressure in school which is deteriating their physical and mental health. Pushed by the close learning schedule and the abundant assignmewnts their teachers hand out, they almost possess no time for their physical exercise. It must be concerned that their body health is decreasing, along with all kinds of diseases that should not appear in their ages. Take my experience as an example. In high school, the daily time line is so strict that it only give us twenty minutes to finish lunch, including the waiting time. Moreover, although we do have P.E. classes, they are often occupied by other teachers of major subjects such as Chinese and math. As a consequence, our valuable time for sporting is lost. In addition, long-time pressure do great harm to students' mental health. It has been shown in some reports that a high proportion of students suffer from mind illness.

Those students always fail to make good grades, will be depressed by grades. In order to keep the enthusiasm to study, students must receive constant positive feed back, from which the easist way is to get good grade. Nonetheless, those bottom students lack such positive feedback and continously being distracted. Maybe their terrible performance in grade is not due to their medicore inteligence, but their lack of positive feedback. For instance, one of my friends in my childhood, Mike, who is a smart boy. He was gifted in math, and expressed intensive interest to math. Unfortunately, he failed his exam in a final test. Losing his confident since than, he became an ordinary students, and quitted school at the end which was a pity.

It must be admitted that grades do reflect some aspects of students' abilities, but it is not comprehensive. Inevitblely, students will make errors and mistakes in an exam resulted in low testing score. How can we say that they are bad students. Maybe they are not interested in this subject but talented in other subjects, or what's worse, their true interests are not included in all subjects at all. In summary, if grade is a plausible metric still need to be proved.

With reasons I mentioned above, I can safely draw the conclusion that grades will sometimes discourage students to learn because of the poor physical and mental health condition, the constant absence of confidance, and the lack of comprehensive judgement.