Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to complain in person than to complain in writing. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In life, there are moments when you must make complaints in order to secure your rights. You may have to complain about a defective product in order to secure your rights as a customer, or complain your friend's faults in a relationship. However, people have different preferences on how to express complaints. Some people prefer to complain indirectly by letters or text messages since they find it hard to express their feelings face to face while others prefer to complain in person. I think that complaining in person is a better idea since you can express your points more clearly and explicitly. Also, the drafted complaint is a lengthy way.

To begin with, in order to express your points more effectively, it is better to complain in person. Talking directly allows you to convey your expression about the problem, therefore you could expect a quicker response. When writing a letter, you could miss out some important information on the problem. Also, your complaint might not be taken seriously and neglected. For example, I once bought a box of apples online, however the contents were spoiled badly. I immediately wrote a letter to the manufacturer, but I received a response saying that they are not able to identify the problem and I should contact the manager again to clarify the situation. So angry I was, I visited the manufacturer's office directly with a sample of the spoiled produced and explained what the problem was and what I required for compensation. Although they did not take the problem seriously initially, as soon as they saw my angry expression and my clear explanation, they promptly apologized and made a refund for my purchase. According to my experience, it is a better idea to complain in person since you are able to clarify the situation and also your complaints will not easily get neglected.

In addition, writing a letter is a time consuming method because the delivery of complaint through courier or postal service takes time. Also, if your explanation was not clear enough you have to repeat the process again. For instance, a few days back I bought Rasagulla sweets and I found them spoiled after opening the container. Immediately I went to the supermarket, complained in person and returned the items. Consequently, they informed the manufacturer to collect back all the boxes of Rasagulla sweets which had the same batch number that I complained. As a result, manufacturer and seller reputation was saved and I got my result.