Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is said that knowledge is power. The intriguing fact about this sentence is that it does not restrict knowledge to a few areas but it means knowledge in general. This is why I believe that it is of utmost important to have at least a basic information about what goes on around the world, even if they seem irrelevant to our daily lives now. Thus, I agree with the statement and my reasons for saying so will be elaborated in the coming paragraphs.

Firstly, it should be noted that our knowledge is always limited by what we know at the moment. What seems irrelevant now might be highly important and sought after in near future to the point of directly affecting our decisions. Hence, I believe we should not label information "useless" or "irrelevant" just because we have no need for them at present. There are many instances of events that I initially paid little attention, only to become urgently important in a later date. For example, I never paid attention to financial news as I was never active on stock market. It never occurred to me that one day I would have to work with financial data and carefully analyze them as part of my internship during my bachelor's studies. The company assigned me to cost management office and I had to cram different sorts of acronyms and information’s in a very short time to be able to understand what was going on in that office. This example clearly shows that no matter how irrelevant some information seem now, they might come in handy in future and it is better to know them now than later.

Secondly, knowing more about the society and environment that we are living in helps us feel more fulfilled. It is a basic desire of the mankind to know more about everything and our brains are wired to seek information in any situation. No matter how insignificant events are, knowing what they are and why they are happening will fulfill this desire for knowledge and make us feel in control over our actions, instead of being dictated by random events and people. I remember during quarantine due to COVID-19 infection, I felt anxious and overly stressed because I had no idea what was happening and why this virus suddenly took the world in storm. Reading about previous pandemics, which I always neglected and thought were irrelevant to where I live, helped me find solace in knowing that COVID-19 was nothing worse than the likes of Ebola and if the mankind was able to overcome those pandemics, it should not have much problems dealing with the new virus. Therefore, knowledge about world events make us feel empowered and ready to counter any situation.

In summary, I believe it is always good to know as much as we can about our environment. Humans are social beings and need social interactions. Such interactions will be much easier if they have paid attention to mundane events because they would feel empowered and ready in any circumstances. We might even find ourselves in dire need of these simple information one day, so having knowledge beforehand would prove beneficial if the day comes.