Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Workers should feel comfortable doing their job. Having many different tasks to do in a day might bring confusion and misinformation to an operator. Moreover, said worker would have to learn and master all the tasks they are expected to do, which adds to the complexity of the job and makes the learning curve for new recruits steeper. It might be better do have similar tasks throughout the day and focus on perfecting these tasks rather than jumping between unique assignments that share nothing with each other.

Naturally, mixing tasks will create confusion for anyone doing them. It is much easier to control the quality of one's work when it consists of similar tasks. Level of quality will undoubtedly deteriorate as more assignments are mixed together and piled up on a single person's shoulders. In order to combat this confusion, more time and energy will have to be spent on both quality control and education of new workers to ensure desirable outcomes.

It is understandable for employers to desire the best outcome from their employees. For workers to achieve this goal, they have to be skillful in the job trusted to them. The most natural way of getting skillful, is by accumulating experience doing the job over time. So, it can be understood that entrusting routine works to workers will make them more efficient the more they spend doing their daily works. On the other hand, if workers had to tend to many different tasks in a day, it will take much more time for them to get proficient and perfect on the job as the learning curve in initial steps will be more complex.

In conclusion, I believe it is better for workers to have similar tasks in a day rather than working on multiple types of tasks. Not only does it prevent unwanted confusion that happens from switching tasks, it also is easier to reach higher levels of skill and comfort in set number of days.