Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays we have easily access to the information. Through the internet and television we can keep updated of what is happening all over the world. I believe that is one of the best benefits of the technology. We have to do a good use of it considering that it can positive affect our lives, even if there is not a clear change on our daily life. I will be discussing more about it on the following essay.

Firstly, knowing about events happening around the world keep us informed and someway rises our knowledge. Although it is true that we can take our days normally without reading news, because it will not change our routine unless if you work in a job that is directly related to it as journalist, governate, public figures, etc. However, having the habitude of reading news can increase our general knowledge and it can give a long term impact. For example, once I was talking to some friends and one of them asked me about the elections of my country, saying that he was sorry about the way that is was going because the candidate that was winning the elections was a military and very strict. After that we started to talk about politics of many countries where recently suffered the same problem. But there were some people who was not following the conversation because they were not informed about what was going on the world.

Secondly, other advantage of being well informed about mundial events is that you can better understand what is happening in your own country. Historically, the event tends to repeat over time and over places. That fact is potentialized by the globalization that we are living nowadays. Then, what is happening in China can directly affect the USA, for example. One good example to stade this idea is the Arabic spring movement that happened in Egypt some years ago. Maybe it would not happen in the way that it did if the Egyptians did not have access of the world news and the movement would not generate the same impact if it was not a notice all over the world.

Lastly, the exchange of information through the media can help in the integration of science. It allows that a discovery made in a country can be rapidly spread around the world. By doing that exchange of information, a research can complete or confront another, both situation are helping on the the science improvement. An practical illustration of this is the development of medicines by some countries that allows the cure of many diseases before untreated worldwide.

Despite the events happing very far from us right now do not directly change our daily live, it can have positive impact in our live for a long-term, by increasing the education level and overall knowledge. It also brings benefits to the science progress, politics and even in a random talk between friends. Thus, I strong believe that it is important to be updated of what is happening worldwide.