Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in today's complicated and progressive world where we live, obtaining information and news regarding activities around the globe is very important. There exists a controversial debate among individuals that being informed about events is beneficial or not. While many people hold the opinion that it is essential for our routine life to know about ongoing incidents, others stand at the other side of the continuum, holding the view that does not crucial for us. As far as I am concerned, I am more inclined to the former group of people. In what follows, I will delve into the most paramount reasons to substantiate my viewpoint.

It is worth bearing in mind from an economical standpoint that collecting data and information is a costly process. George Akerlof – a Nobel laureate in economics – once said, " There is no such thing as free lunch in the world." To make things crystal clear, an example of my own experience can shed light on how collecting information is costly. I have been working for a business consulting company for almost five years. During the first year, I was an unpaid intern in the public relations department, and I was in charge of reporting ongoing exhibitions, events, and trade shows to my supervisor. After a while, I found out that the company was paying 2000 dollars each month for lots of catalogs, brochures, and web services that are not related to our field of work. Having talked to the CEO – Chief Executive Officer – of the company I made a short report and he agreed to cut some of them. Had we not decide to manage our budget on collecting information, we might have lost thousands of dollars each year.

Furthermore, another compelling reason which supports my stance on this issue is that life is too short; time is the most important asset we have and people should not waste their time on matters that do not affect them. There is a false premise that knowing about events and activities around the globe is pivotal. However, this stance in no longer hold true because studies have revealed that people tend to allocate most of their time with their family. In this vein, a survey conducted by a group of sociologists at the University of Indiana has shown that there is a huge trend of unsubscribing from newsletters in the United States. This research clearly illustrates the point mentioned before.

In conclusion, having considered all the above-mentioned arguments and reasons into account, I do believe that there is no significant correlation between our daily life and having information about events. For the sake of briefness, a couple of points are worth reiterating, first: Gaining information about events is not free and it costs a lot; second, because of the scarcity of time it is not rational to put effort to collect unnecessary information. As for this writer's advice, I highly recommend people to avoid non-essential information.