Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in today's complicated world we live in, human beings are exposed to a wide variety of news and events across the world. The relentless growth of technology has provided conditions in which people can acquire an inordinate amount of information. There is a substantial number of people who incline toward the idea that knowing about events happening around the world is essential, even they will not influence their daily life. I firmly concur with their idea. The rationale behind this thesis will be elaborated upon and exemplified in the ensuing paragraphs by focusing on two substantial reasons.

The first imperative point to be mentioned is that knowing about different events that are happening across the world broadens the horizons of people. It comes as no surprise that obtaining information about events of other countries helps individuals to elevate their knowledge. For instance, I usually watch CNN and Foxnews, getting information about the latest news around the world. Recently, I informed that a heavy storm has destructed one of the coastal cities of Japan. because I had studied meteorology, it helped me to start a new project about different methods that can be applied to inhibit such devastations. Had I ignored that event in Japan, I would have not motivated to embark on new research.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that human beings feel concern and empathy for people across the world. As a matter of fact, they have a strong desire to being informed about the living condition of other individuals. For instance, when people were informed about the earthquake in Iran, they devote a great deal of money and goods to help those who suffered from that catastrophic incident. This clearly shows that getting information about various events can be beneficial for all human beings around the world.

To summarize, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one could conclude that by acquiring data about events occurring across the globe, people can expand their knowledge. Furthermore, people can help those who are suffering from natural disasters such as flooding or earthquake.