Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many around me hold the idea that one should only know events that happen around oneself, yet from where I stand, I disagree with that statement. Instead, I believe that people should get to realize events that happens around the world, even when it is unlikely to affect us. In the following passages, I will list my reasons clearly.

First of all, I consider knowing events from different parts of the world a civic duty. As the globalization starts to bloom, it is fair to say that one can make influence throughout the world, let along a single event. For example, the increasing price of wheat in England may in the end affects the cereal price in Taiwan. We are all connected as a whole, leaving us the duty to care for each other. In my opinion, to know events happening to the world can help us enhance our knowledge of the globe and make adoptions in accordance.

Next, it is important for one to learn from others' experience, so that we can prepare ourselves if one day the same thing happens to us. The famous example is the Tsunami that happened in Japan years ago, which made many families torn apart and buildings washed out. That is when we came to realize the great dangers embedded in the nuclear power. After that catastrophe, Taiwan government also made some necessary inspects in all of our nuclear power plant, and try to make the place safer. Thus, it could be noted that events happen in other countries can surely teach us a lesson and help us in our development.

Moreover, confining to events that only affect oneself may not be the wisest choice. As previously mentioned, one could never understand his or her role in the global village if limited to certain sources. Also, each event must teach us something, or nothing, if one's not listening. In this fast-pacing world, it is not enough for one to know only the events that happen in one's country. People must see without boundaries to obtain further knowledge and depth.

In conclusion, I posits that people should all try to find out what happens to the world as a whole, and not filter out the news abroad. In this way, we could all locate ourself in this globe as to fulfill our civic duty, as well as learn the lessons by others. We should not confine ourselves to specified numbers of news and sources, which provides us little help. Instead, embracing the news events that happen throughout the world is the best option.