Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When people choose a job, they usually consider several factors: salary, responsibilities, and the work hours among others. They look at them in order to find the one that is the most suitable for them according to their personal preferences. Some may prefer a job with long hours for three days a week while others are in favor of a job with shorter hours for five days a week. Personally, I think it is more enjoyable to have latter kind of job inasmuch as it offers a more balanced lifestyle and it is also healthier than the former.

To begin with, we know that moderation is normally better than extremities and it applies to this case -work hours-. Someone who prefers longer hours but fewer working days might not be able to enjoy his or her personal life such as having breakfast, lunch, or dinner with the family during those days because of a tight schedule or practicing sports or any social life at all. Therefore, that person might be very stressed or even undergo depression which would affect negatively his or her off days because of the bad mood. For example, a nurse who works ten hours a day with night shift would like to sleep well during his or her free days and hence reducing the expected leisure time. Therefore, working shorter hours for more days allows people to keep a balance between work and leisure without going to extremes.

Moreover, following the argument above, a balanced lifestyle provided by working shorter hours is salutary for people in that they get more time for exercising, releasing the accumulated stress in the job, and enjoying carrying out activities with their beloved ones and altogether may even increase their productivity at work. Thus, under these conditions, workers are both physically and mentally healthier having shorter work hours which is obviously more enjoyable.

In short, owning to the fact that long working hours can cause health problems to workers, I think It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.