Do you agree or disagree the following statement:It is more important for a teacher to help students gain self-confidence than to learn specialized knowledge in one subject.

When it comes to the main mission of a teacher, generally, we would say that is to impart various knowledge like math and science to students. However, nowadays, more and more people agree that the fundamental duty of a teacher should be to cultivate students’ self-confidence rather than teaching. Comparing to specific knowledge, confidence is relatively more significant.

In reality, only with the help of someone can people develop the sense of self-confidence efficiently. Nowadays, thanks to the appearance of Internet, students are able to acquire knowledge and information as fast and conveniently as they can. Therefore, teachers’ original duty that is teaching should take the transition to sharpen students various skills and abilities, such as self-confidence and responsibility. For example, my English teacher fairly encourages us to make full use of a variety of networking sites to improve our English. Hence, she is exceedingly mindful to help us gain self-confidence by our speeches in the class. As a result, it makes a huge difference.

Strong confidence contributes to satisfactory results. That means the more confident a person, the higher possibility of success. When we take part in different competitions, self-confidence is the necessary complement for our performances. For example, last week, I took part in a speaking contest in my school. I saw some competitors were too nervous to forget their topics. Contrast to them, I felt extraordinarily confident and then I gave a perfect speech to judges. Undoubtedly, I awarded the first prize. Without such self-confidence, I would not make great achievement.

If someone had a full confidence, he would study positively. Adequate self-confidence is the main driving behind difficulties. When we have trouble with our assignments, lack of confidence will lead to give up. My classmate was absent for one month result from his right leg broken. Only two weeks were left for our final exams. Even though time was limited, he did not give up but prepared for these exams positively. Surprisingly, he got a relatively high scores. He determinedly believe that he could overcome these difficulties.

Obviously, It is crucial to gain self-confidence from teachers, for it enables us to pay much attention on our study and achieve unexpected outcome. More over, specific knowledge is easier to obtain by self-study and gaining self-confidence is mostly dependent on others’ assistance.