Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The discussion about whether or not the importance to keep old friends or to make new friends is a very controversial discussion. There are people on both sides of the policy who have very strong feelings. Some people feel that it is more important to make new friends, but most believe that to keep old friends is more essential . However, If I were forced to choose, I would raise my voice for that to continue relationship with old friend is very necessary. It is my firm belief that old friends are more precious than new friends for several reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, one of the reasons of my specific opinion is that the old friends can help us in our important jobs as they know ourselves for a long period of time. They can easily solve any problem because they know the suitable right way for us to solve the problems. They give us very important advices as we can solve our problem more easily. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. You see, my one friend could not do well in any new situation and he got a job as a teacher in foreign country. To me, the best advice I could give to my friend studying abroad is to be open to new experiences. Even though I have never left the country, I had a similar experience of journeying into the unknown on my first day teaching. You see, I decided to become a teacher because I thought it would be an easy job. But after my first day, I realized that teaching was much more demanding than I had anticipated. I finally understood that how something looks on paper is much different than reality. That’s something my friend is going to soon discover when he moves abroad, which is why I would strongly advise him to open up to new people and experiences while studying overseas. If I had not known him from many years ago I would never have given such types of advices.

Secondly, why I illustrate my specific opinion is that old friends know ourselves very much than the new friends. They can helps us to solve various esoteric problems in our learning. They also give us important advices how to solve any problem more easily as they know us for a long period of time. Drawing from my own experience, I remember when I was in junior high school and I wanted to join the football team. I was small and had never played much football before, but I wanted to try. My old friend didn’t think I’d like football very much, but he said that if I wanted to do it, I could. After three months of football practice and riding the bench I ended up hating football. All the kids picked on me because of my size and I wasn’t very good at tackling or catching. Even though I hated everything about the football team, I was and still am grateful for the experience. If my old friend hadn’t let me try, I would have blamed him for the way things turned out. At last I could understand the advices of old friends.

However some might argue that new friends are more important than old friends, but it is not true for all the time because may be new friends are helpful but they cannot help as like as old friends because old friends know us more profoundly than new friends.

In light of the above mentioned reasons, I strongly believe old friends are more important than new friends. This is because old friends can help us in our important jobs and old friends know ourselves very much than the new friends so they can helps us to solve various esoteric problems in our learning.