Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

People often hold different views on whether the governments should spend money to improve internet access or public transportation. Based on my personal experience, I strongly agree that the governments should put more budget on improving internet access since the government cares about their reputation, the education of the people, and better national economic growth.

First of all, the governments care about their reputation, and better access for everyone to go online will make the citizen satisfied. Since the prevalence of the smartphone and personal computer, people nowadays rely on the internet to connect with friends. For example, I am a heavy user of the internet. I enjoy chatting with my friends on messenger and sharing my daily life on Instagram. Thanks to the investment of the government in establishing the internet throughout my country, I can use the internet anywhere. On the other hand, if the government spend more money on public transportation, I can't chat with my friend in New York and make connections with them.

Secondly, education is vital in modern society, so more access to the internet means we can get more information from the internet. For example, my cousin, Tom, is a middle school student. He likes to read the news and study extracurricular knowledge on the internet. Besides, he uses the online teaching platform, Coursera, to self-learn computer science and data analysis. By doing so, he is adept at coding and able to make an application on his own. If there is no accessible internet for him, he has to spend a lot of money to learn computer science and coding in the cram school, which is not affordable for a student in his age.

Last but not least, for the growth of the national economy, it is important to have better access to the internet with faster speed. To be more precise, it is a global village and the economy of nations all over the planet are interwoven together. The nation which has the latest information can earn more money by transaction in the stock market. For example, if there is a war in middle-east Asia, we can expect that the price of crude oil will increase due to warfare. Without first-handed information, the government might make the wrong decision, which will hamper economic growth.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that the government should spend money to improve internet access. That is to say, the government cares about their reputation, the education of the people, and better national economic growth and better access to the internet make their people satisfied, learn more knowledge, and earn more money.