Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is said that one of the most implying factor of whether a city is modernized is the soundness of public transportation. By having complete public transportation, numbers of modern tasks such as traffic jams, pollutions, and fluidity between different areas can be dealt with easily. Therefore, I cannot agree with the statement that government should spend more money on refining Internet access.

As mentioned above, a sound public transportation can fix the most common faced problem in cities: traffic jam. By transporting through buses, trains, and subway, which contains higher capacity rather than cars, traffic can become smoother and further improve the efficiency by creating a benign cycle that less private vehicles appeared on streets and public vehicles can operate well. For me, when I first visited the capital of Taiwan, where public transportation is much more advanced than where I used to leave, I was shocked that nowhere was unreachable by buses or MRT. During those years, I had used public transportation to itinerate the whole Taipei and experience the convenience of this city, which definitely does not exist in where I originally lived.

In addition, public transportation can also reduce the pollutions brought by inner combustion vehicles. A single bus contains much more passengers than private vehicles especially when each private vehicle contains only one passenger. By maximizing the capacity of public transportation, the pollution from vehicles can be reduced easily, and the air that breathed by citizens can also be removed of harmful particles. What's more, in Taipei, most buses are electric vehicles, which produce less pollutions, instead of traditional inner combustion vehicles.

Last but not least, the fluidity between different areas can also be improved by the development of public transportation. In the past, people who did not have private vehicles could only live in their village and the chances to reach out to newer things were extremely rare. By the advent of public transportations, reaching comprehensive things will become a common routine and the prospect of citizens can be broaden easily.

However, some may argue that Internet is the main source for modern people to get in touch in outer world. While it may be true to a certain extent, it is always better for people to look into things through themselves instead of through the Internet. Plus, the improvement of public transportation can also deal with traffic jam and pollutions mentioned above.