Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Taking a lot of time to make an important decision is often viewed as a bad quality for a person to have, but, in fact, it is a good quality for a person to have. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is to be said that opportunities are for people who are ready, and I am a believer in this saying. It implies that opportunities do not always remain and most of them are transient. Therefore, I do not agree with this statement that taking a lot of time to make an important decision can be viewed as a positive quality. More reasons that I demur with it will be elaborated in the following.

As mentioned, opportunities tend to be transient and spending huge amount of time on considering it may simply result in the disappearing of them. Take myself as an example, I used to be a shy and introverted person that was afraid of accepting opportunities. There was once that when I got a job offer, I was too unsure and could not decide whether to take it or not, so I held it for a few weeks. But after I putted faith in myself and finalizes my decision, the offer has already been taken by other candidates. It turned out that the large amount of time I spent on considering actually only led to an adverse consequence.

What's more, it is also common that people incline to make the same decision as they first considered the options they got even though they spend lots of time on thinking of it. The first decision appears in one's head always seems to be the true thought from one's heart, and therefore spending excessive time would seem unwise and definitely a waste of time.

Some may argue that spending more time on an extremely important decision should be viewed as meticulous instead of procrastination. Although it is true that thinking thoroughly should be considered as carefulness, but it would also bring inconvenience to others. Especially when others are waiting for the single person so that they can proceed to the next step. It seems to be a routine that while a team project is stuck due to one of the team member is vacillating on a certain content, others will not view him/her as meticulous but the one who delay their schedule.

To sum up, it is reasonable for people to spend some time on important decisions, but it will also lead to the disappearing of opportunities and the inconveniences to others as well. Therefore, I cannot consider spending excessive time on making decision a good quality as whole.