Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As we are now in the fast lane of technology improvement, internet development enables us to contact with each other conveniently, and additionally, public transportation makes it possible for us to travel to anywhere, which have greatly enhanced the connection of people. In the meantime, however, government focus and spending are limited, which prompts us to have a focus within these two directions. In my opinion, public transportation needs more attention and support from the government.

Since we are now in the era of internet, internet access is one of the basic necessities for further development. With the help of improving internet access, people can easily get in touch and exchange their ideas and thoughts. while internet access can truly bring convenience in communication, traditional techniques like telephones and text messages can still meet the demands of most people, and the price for internet access is out of reach for a large amount, making the range of people who can enjoy the benefit of improving internet access become limited. In comparison, public transportation can provide benefits for the economics as well as a large range of people, making it a great decision to get more support from the government.

Firstly, public transportation can lift the employment rate as well as the business development, beneficial to the future development of a country. As more and more money poured into the infrastructure industry, it will generate thousands of jobs compared to the internet industry, while more and more less educated people can get employed to improve their life standards. As the data in the national bureau of statistics in the first quarter of 2018 shows, construction sites hold 15% of the jobs in the total market, much more than the 3.6% in the internet industry. Moreover, the increasing needs of construction machines as well as vehicles will boost the manufacturing business, which will benefit the economy in the long term, thus making the financial investment from government be noteworthy and could be generated back very fast.

In addition, public transportation improvement can be beneficial to a wide range of people, compared to the high access hurdle in internet. For school students, since most schools still require students to get to school and study together with classmates, enhancement in transportation would provide convenience and shorten the wasted time on traffic, which may save more time for students and in turn improves their academic performance. As an experiment conducted by a well-known psychological professor in Peking University, the time input and the mental satisfaction rate are highly connected with the overall academic output, while elimination of traffic jams would pose a significant positive effect on scores. what's more, workers and white-collars can enjoy the benefit of public transportation improvement as well, as the improvement will reduce the time of traffic and could enable the workers to live farther than before, reducing the life expense of those people. The decrement in traffic associated expense would lead to higher satisfaction of life, pushing them to work harder and happier, which could not be gained from the improvement of internet access.

From what we have discussed, public transportation would generate benefit to not only the associated industry chain, but wider range of people as well. As a result, more money should be invested in improving public transportation, and it would provide larger and more enduring benefits for the whole society.