Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is a waste of money for governments to fund space travel or space exploration.

It is hard to deny that governments spend thousands and millions of money on the construction of spaceship, and such a fact may mislead impressionable people to generate the opinion that it is a waste of money for the governments to fund space travel and exploration. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. As far as economy, technology and history are concerned, I strongly hold that it is necessary for the government to spend money on space travel.

To begin with, space is an untapped world for the humans. Facing with the problems of global resource depletion, air pollution and shortage of food today, space is a land of imagination and anticipation for us. The impact of rational and effective space exploration will be immeasurable. As a result, funding by the government is necessary and the reward we get from space exploration will be tremendous.

In addition, nowadays we cannot live a life without Internet and GPS. These advanced technologies bring too much convenience to our life. However, the development of these advanced technology could not be accomplished without the help of space exploration. Without the investment by the government on space exploration and satellites, how can we enjoy the convenience in our daily life? In other words, if there is no space exploration, the overall standard of living in our society will be at least 20 years backwards.

Moreover, space travel and exploration are now in the trial stage. As was the case on March 18, 1965, when Soviet cosmonaut Leonov stepped out of the spacecraft and entered space, his family did not support him, and his father even thought he should be punished. Under pressure, he returned to the spacecraft. Less than three months later, American astronaut ED White completed his first spacewalk. The move is significant. It was on the basis of the substantial financial investment of the Soviet Union and the United States Government at that time that they laid the foundation for a walk of extraordinary significance. With the basis of space travel, there will certainly be more space to explore in the future.

In conclusion, based on the reasons that space travelling and exploration are beneficial, the development of technology cannot leave it nowadays and it is now only on the trial stage, I strongly agree that it is necessary for the government to spend huge amounts of fundings on space exploration.