Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The knowledge we gain from personal experiences is more valuable than the experience we gain from books Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer Do not use memorized examples

It is undeniable that we have more access to various forms of knowledge through fast-developing technologies. Some people argue that personal experience is more significant for acquiring knowledge, while others claim that knowledge from books is more vital. I think both are equally essential based on the following reasons.

First, the information gained from real experiences is more beneficial because it is more accurate than what we merely gain from books. For example, when my brother got his first job, he started some investments by using his salary. In the beginning, he bought a large number of financial books, which include some methods of investment from successful investors in the stock market. He was motivated by those stories and he tried to recreate their stories in his life. Sadly, he lost all his money after he bought one stock that one famous investor recommends in his book. Now, he turns to earn some money back because he learned from the failures of his own investing experience from the last five years. Therefore, we should notice that the knowledge relevant to real-life problems from books may not always be useful and accurate for our own life.

Second, there is much knowledge that we may not always get a chance to experience, such as some information about history and art. Books play a crucial role in this abstract knowledge, which enables us to know other beautiful things in this world. Take my personal story as an example. I am obsessed with the Middle Ages history, which is impossible for me to experience as we are now living in modern times. If I were a living person in the Middle Ages, I could have the precious chance to witness the rise and fall of many great kingdoms. But since I can’t, I can only read and imagine all those fascinating stories and pictures from various books. Also, I am immersed in all information of paintings and painters in the Renaissance period, which cannot also be realized just by personal experience. Thus, the knowledge present in books is invaluable because they are indispensable and unique, which cannot be obtained from other resources like personal life experience.

In conclusion, the knowledge we obtain, whether from our real-life experiences or old stories about history and art from books, is precious and important. In that case, we must take advantage of both resources in order to acquire abundant knowledge of all sorts.