Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As the development of the internet technology, more and more ways can be found by teens to watch a movie or television programs. Some people argue that these have a negative effect to teenagers' behaviour. Generally, I agree with this opinion. In several aspects the video programs do influent young people in a bad way.

Firstly, teenagers sometimes learn some bad behaviors throught movies or TV programs. As we all know, one of the most common ways for young peoples to learn new things is by emulating. Nowadays, to attract more audience, most videos are trying to bring more exite. As a consequence, they are now full of violence, crimes, and so on. As a result, after watching such videos, teens may unsupprisingly learn to be violent or even try to do some illegal things.

Secondly, teens usually spend too much time in watching videos. As the videos nowadays is very attractive, many would get addicted. The story of one of my cousins is a very good example. He is now in his freshmen year of a college, but he failed the final test of a vital complementary course, which make him loose the scholarship and the opportunity to directly get into a grad school without any test. He was a good student when he was in the middle school, or he wouldn't make it to such a good college. What makes him flip to such a bad example is his addiction to TV programs. As far as I know, he had spend all his semester in his room watching videos like Sherlock, Rick and Morty, etc. He even didn't show up in a great portion of his classes.

Some would say that some programs like Discovery, which is a great documentary series, may help students learn more useful knowledge. However, they usually have some other better choices. One of the greatest shortage of learning from TV programs is that most of the programs are decorated for better effect. Instead of learning from documentaries, text books may be a better option, in which a student could learn systematically and accurately what the truth is.