Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television strongly influence the way people behave? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

Many people think that movies and television do not affect their way of living and behavior. However, I believe that movies, television, and other social media strongly affect the behavior of people who consume it. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, movies and television affect the behavior of people because the morals and principles shown are adopted by the young generations. For instance, nowadays many television shows display that bullying is not the correct way of doing things in schools and colleges. Consequently, the children who watch it learn that bullying not a good thing at a younger age. Moreover, it is important that the younger generation is exposed to all the positive morals and principles of society because their brain is currently at a developing stage. So it is vital for them to learn these things right away.

Second of all, sometimes movies and television have a bad influence on people. There are many characters portrayed in the films which promote violence. People tend to follow them thinking that nothing is wrong in that. For example, during my college days, my roommate was a fan of such character and following this character changed him drastically but in a bad way. During his first year, he was a straight-As student but since the time he started to drink and smoke, his performance had a steep fall. He was once a topper of the class and now he is the only guy in our class who has not bagged a job. Had he not watched those movies, he would be in a good state of living now.

In conclusion, I believe that movies, television, and other media strongly affect the people who consume them. This is because they present the morals and values of the society which are followed by the people and the portrayal of characters which acts as a role model for many people.