Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In my country, young people have better lives than their parents had when they were young.

Use reasons and examples to support your answer.

Having a good life means that one is satisfied with one's life. Numerous generations have passed since the advent of human civilization, and each generation had different lives. Some people argue that the current generation is living a worse life than their parent’s generation. However, I personally agree with the statement aforementioned for two reasons: the advancement of technology and the proliferation of culture.

First and foremost, technology has been more advanced than ever before. To be specific, people discovered and invented numerous tools, such as the computer and the smartphone, and that helped people become more satisfied with their lives. For example, my mother once said that when she was a young child, the smartphone and computer weren't invented yet. She was very frustrated when she had to go to the library to find the information. When the computer and smartphone were invented, she was awed by the convenience that the two tools provided. As one can clearly see, the advancement of technology has contributed to a better life for the younger generation.

In addition, the profound culture that was created during the current generation also contributed to better lives for the young. In detail, new entertainments such as the movie theater provided young people with more satisfaction with their lives, as entertainment has a significant impact on people’s lives. An observational study held in 2018 at Seoul University had a survey where participants were asked of the amount of entertainment they had or have when they were young. The results showed that the younger generation had more choices of entertainment. The researchers concluded that this was because more and more kinds of entertainment have appeared in the last decade. This undoubtedly proves that the new cultures or entertainment has led to a better life for the young.

Admittedly, some could argue that the environment has dramatically worsened for the last decade, and there were particular cultures that disappeared in the current generation. However, as new technologies and cultures helped the young people to have better lives, I strongly agree with the statement above that in my country, young people have better lives than their parents' young lives.