Television advertising directed toward young children should not be allowed

Television advertising has various influences to different ages. Regarding this, some think that advertisements directed to young children should be banned. However, I personally believe that television advertisements targeted for children between two and five should be allowed for two reasons: effectiveness and fairness.

First and foremost, targeting young children can be an effective strategy for advertisement companies. To be specific, since children have a limited perspective, they will likely urge their parents to buy the products that are advertised. Therefore, if companies make the products look appealing to them, companies will likely have huge profits. For example, I have a young cousin who is five years old. His favorite character is Spiderman, and he wants to have every merchandise related to his favorite character. At first, his mom couldn’t help buying the products because she thought it would make his son satisfied. Now, his mom feels tired when he wants something on television advertisement.This clearly shows that the younger the children are, the more likely they are to beg their parents to buy the products that are advertised on television, and it is definitely effective for the companies to target young consumers, children aged between two to five.

In addition, it would be unfair for the companies if the law banned them from producing advertisements that are targeted toward young children. Specifically, it would be unconstitutional since it violates one of the most fundamental laws in the constitution: freedom of advertisement. For instance, I once read an article about an advertising company that was sued by a family. The parents insisted that addictive food advertisements such as chocolate or candies harmed their son's health. However, the judge concluded that the company did not have any legal responsibility for advertising addictive food advertisements and also mentioned that it is the parents’ responsibility to regulate their son from watching excessive amounts of television. This definitely proves that it is unconstitutional for the government to ban the companies from making targeted advertisements.

Admittedly, some could argue that those advertisements could have negative influences on young children and their family. However, since it is an effective way of advertising and would be unconstitutional if the government did not allow it, I strongly disagree with the statement that television advertising directed toward young children should be banned.