Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: One quality that a successful leader must have is to make decisions quickly; when a leader takes too much time to make decisions, he will be seen as ineffective to the people he leads.

In the modern era, due to the complexities of the modern societies, decision making plays a crucial role in every aspect of people lives. In this regard, it is critically important for people to choose the best way of decision making, and leaders are not the exception to this rule. Some people possess the conviction that successful leaders are one who make decision instantly. Nevertheless, others may hold other perspective. I contend that making decision fast should not be consider as a significant feature of successful leaders. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most outstanding reasons.

First and foremost, decision making is a process in which people with different knowledge should express their opinion, which means it takes time to consult with many people with different expertise. There is widely held belief that the more people ask other’s opinions about a problem, the more the decision they make about that problem will be practical. It goes without saying that if leaders don’t consult with other knowledgeable people, they cannot make the best decision, and their decision will have dire consequences for organizations. My own experience is a case in point. Approximately five years ago, I worked in a famous company in my country. The leader of the mentioned company always made decision by himself, so it was able to do that fast. As time elapsed, his decisions turned out to be so ineffective that the company encounter a lot of hurdles. Had he not made decisions instantly and without asking other’s opinions, the company would not have faced such issues.

The second noteworthy reason to be mentioned is that leaders should analyze all positive and negative aspects of their decisions so that they can detect all weaknesses and strengths of their plans. There is no denying the fact that if they don’t consider all facets of their decision, it might lead to huge challenges, so chaos ensues. It is axiomatic that assessing all aspects of a decision take time. In the research conducted in my country in 2020, factors that affected making best decision that gave rise to a prosperity of organizations were examined. The results revealed that one of the most important factors were to appraise all ins and pros of decisions before finalize them. Leaders who considered different facets of a problem before making decision regarding that made more effective and useful decision and their organization reached their goals of being successful in the long run. These company did not face difficulties most of the time, nor did they waste their resources in view of bad decisions.

In short, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that fast decision-making should not be considered as a good characteristic of leaders. Not only does it causes leader not to consult with experts, but also it prevents them from analyzing different side of their decisions, both of which bring about huge costs for companies in the long term. However, it was a story in a nutshell; actually, there are some other reasons and examples which are not mentioned above. Finally, it is suggested that leaders spend enough time analyzing various facets of problems before making decision about them, and want others to express their views about that.