Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at young age. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In my opinion, it is difficult for parents to let children learn to manage their own money at young age. Young children are still a process of development, and nowadays parents tend to always help their children without giving them chances to develop a sense of responsibility.

First of all, nowadays parents tend to obsessively protect their children. When children are at a loss for something, parents always interfere with children’s matter and solve them instead of their children. In this situation, children can’t acquire the ability to live by themselves. So even if children fail to manage their own money, children won’t recognize the situation seriously because they believe that their parents will help them soon. For example, when we are still elementary school students, one of my friends lost his wallet and were at a loss for how to go back from school. I lent him some coins and he made a phone call to his mother. Then, his mother are worried about his son so much and soon she drove her car to his school and took him to her house. As we can see from this example, parents tend to help their children easily, so children have difficulty in developing a sense of responsibility.

Secondly, young children are not so mentally developed. If parents let their children take care of money, children do not have enough capacity and they will just end up wasting money. This will in turn encourage children to fall into a habit of abusing their own money in the future. For example, one of my junior high school classmates always stopped by the convenience store after school and bought some snacks. His parents gave him money in order to let him take care of money. But this didn’t work as you can see from his behavior.

Finally, I think there is no need for rushing to let children make a habit of managing financial control by themselves. When we grow older, we will naturally be responsible for ourselves to some extent. Children will learn to manage their own money as time goes by. So we don’t have to worry about children’s sense of responsibility from the early stages of their development. As for me, my mother had never let me manage my money when I graduted from high school, but now I am a university student and I can manage my money well.

As I mentioned in the paragraphs above, it is practically impossible for children to form the habit of managing their own money. In some cases parents’ protection will hinder this, and in other cases children’s infancy will make this impossible.