Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

Personally, I strongly believe that in the past it was easier to identify what type of career of job would lead to a secure, successful future. Though some people may assume that it's always hard for people to decide which career is more "successful" than the others, I see some evidences that this would be rather easier in the past. I would explain my rationales in the following passages.

First of all, in the past, there are not so many jobs available for modest people, thus they could easily distinguish which would be most suitable for them. Plus the fact that most people are still working as farmers then, living in the villages leaves them no idea what is it like to be in a city or to be involved in other industry, like business or marketing. Furthermore, this phenomenon can be seen most obviously in women, who did not have much choices then. For instance, it is until 1970 in Taiwan that women started to engage in manufacturing goods in their own house. Before that, they were farmers, and do only domestic jobs.

Secondly, there is this constant idea about what a "successful" life should be for the elder generation. For example. my father used to say that working for the government is what is called a "golden job". In the past, and probably til now, there are a lot of people fancy the job in a government official, since they offer a stable and also great salary. It could be seen that people in the past is too conservative as well. They would rather earn stable money each month as a government official than rack a good fortune seasonally as a fisher or businessman.

The other rationale I would like to provide is that, nowadays it's really hard to identify the most secure and successful career because the world is constantly changing. Especially with the novel technology in the present, there are a lot of jobs created and a single position could also make a huge difference in the world.

In conclusion, I believe that it's easier to decide which career is more promising in the past since there were fewer options and some firm beliefs in choosing a career. While today we are given more choices in this ever-changing world, it is inevitable that making the decision would be harder.