Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of modern society, people's minds are changing with time. I agree with the claim that young people are more independent in making decisions today. There are several reasons support this idea.

First of all. Financial condition of families is essential to this change. People's financial conditions are more better these days than in the past. The more favorable salary and income of today's family help parents educating their children more easily. Parents can buy more edifying books and send their children to high quality schools. These change facilitate children becoming more informative and educated. For example, in the past, my family could not even afford a book for me to get informations about the world outside. All the knowledge of my family was coming from watching television and listening to the radio program. So short sighted was me then that I must depend on my parents former experience to make decision such as which university should I attend.

Furthermore, high technologies such as highways and internet are invented. It becomes more convenient for youngsters to get whatever they want. Young people can travel to more places than before. Take one of my friends Lin for instance. She had gone to most of Chinese major places such as Chengdu, Guangzhou, and Xi'an in her first year of college. These precious memories made her very intelligent in making individual decisions. She knew what was her real demand. Finally, she chose to study abroad alone. Much of her decision were made by herself instead of her parents, meanwhile her parents were glad to see their daughter's ability to live on her own.

Moreover, more informations are available via browsing various kinds of websites. The more knowledgable youngsters are, the more independent they will become.

In conclusion, better economic conditions together with high developments of high technologies enable today's youth becoming more independent than ever before.