Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, science and technology have improved every individual's lifestyle, and due to the vastness of sources on different topics, the levels of consciousness have raised and people are more knowledgeable. In this way, I personally believe that the young youth has turned out to be more decisive and youngsters are more independent in making decisions. The reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

First of all, as mentioned in the previous paragraph, thanks to the fast growth of science and technology, and the availability of the internet, people are more knowledgeable. In retrospect, people have become more educated, conscious, and even curious about what is happening around them and since they have the opportunity to search for information around the web, they are more capable of deciding properly. My personal experience is a compelling example of this subject. A few years ago, there was an election in our country and people had to choose the president for the next four years. Actually, most people were discussing the superiority of two of the candidates who were more popular and they almost had the same abilities. So, it was hard to choose the one and vote for him. However, I tried to search their name on the internet and see what they have done during their professional lives. Finally, I figured out that one of the nominates is way better than the other one because he had more experiences in managing political situations. Therefore, choosing among them was not a big deal anymore, even though my parents were holding the opinion that the other candidate is better. At last, by giving plausible reasons and demonstrating the superiority of the candidate of my choice, I even changed my parent's mindset and viewpoint. So, I can say that because of the accessibility of the great source of information, the internet, young people can not only make personal decisions without depending on their parents but also have the power to change their idea.

Another reason that deserves some words here is that in comparison to the past years, people are spending more time with people other than the family members. Actually, today, people, especially the young youth, spend most of their time attending schools and universities, joining different clubs, and gathering with friends. In this way, a group of researchers has shown that people try to copy and imitate the behaviors of the people who are mostly spending time with them. So, I can say that when teenagers and youngsters are mostly with their friends, classmates, and even colleagues, they will probably rely on their ideas to make decisions and not their parents. However, since people in the past were mostly with their family members, followed family businesses, and even married with a member of their family, they were more dependent on their parents.

To sum it up, I believe that people are less dependent on their parents to make decisions because they have become more knowledgable and have the chance to find information using the internet, and they spend less time with their family members.