Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today, due to the strict developments in technology and science, there is a higher demand for high levels of education, and people are more engaged in developing professional skills. In this way, I believe that nowadays, tutors and teachers are less appreciated by society. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons.

First of all, technology and the internet have brought up new levels of education in our lives. To be more specific, right now, if you want to learn a new topic, you can easily search on the internet and get lots of information and details about it. Additionally, there are lots of virtual classes to join and learn the topic more in-depth. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I remember that when I was an undergraduate student, I wanted to learn Calculus before attending college classes. So, I searched on the web and found so many astonishing books and tutorials that really helped me understand the topic. After that, when I attended the actual class at the university since I was familiar with the topic, I thought the class to be fruitless and boring. Therefore, I couldn't appreciate the professor for teaching the course as he did. So, due to the vastness of sources that students can find around the internet, they are less dependent on their teachers and cannot appreciate them as before.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that attending classes that need your physical involvement might be hard to follow. Unquestionably, being unable to join some sessions of classes happens to everyone. So, when people get sick or cannot attend a class just because they are too busy, results in missing integral information needed to continue the whole course. For instance, one of my friends was sick for two weeks and she could not join the calculus class at the university. After being completely healed, when she started to attend classes, she was almost unable to follow the new lessons because she had missed some important things. So, she stopped attending the class and failed the course. Additionally, the professor didn't have any time to help her point out the problem and tackle the situation. As a result, she failed the course and attended a virtual private class to learn the topic. This example illustrates how important it is to be able to join classes even in unexpected conditions and avoid misleading circumstances which only happens when having a private mentor or attending free scheduled courses.

To sum it up, affording the opportunity to learn various topics using the internet and being unable to follow the courses after missing some sessions, people are almost independent of teachers and don't appreciate them as before.